Project News: ProOrg

Project News: Code of Practice for organic food processing – ProOrg

2 May 2018

The project is one of the twelve projects selected for the funding by CORE Organic Cofund consortium and has officially started on 2 May 2018, when a kick-off meeting was held in Rome. The aim of the project is to develop a set of strategies and tools (Code of Practice, CoP) that can help organic food processors in the selection of appropriate technologies and innovations in line with the organic principles.

The development of the CoP will be through a participatory approach with the involvement of scientists from diverse disciplines and representatives of processors, traders, labelling organizations and other relevant stakeholders, as well as individual companies. OFSP member Flavio Paoletti from the Council for agricultural research and economics (CREA), Italy, coordinates the project. The project consortium is composed by:

  • Consiglio per la Ricerca in Agricoltura e l’Analisi dell’Economia Agraria (CREA, IT)
  • Università Politecnica delle Marche (UNIVPM, IT)
  • Associazione Nazionale delle Imprese di Trasformazione e Distribuzione di prodotti Biologici e naturali (ASSOBIO, IT)
  • University of Copenhagen (KU, DK)
  • Wageningen University &If funded Research (WUR, NL)
  • Thuenen Institut (TI, D)
  • FH Münster University of Applied Sciences (FH MU, D)
  • Assoziation Ökologischer Lebensmittelhersteller (AÖL, D)
  • Warsaw University of Life Sciences (WULS, PL)
  • Forschungsinstitut für biologischen Landbau (FiBL, CH)
  • The French Network of Food Technology Institutes (ACTIA, F)
  • Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique (INRA, F)
  • Institut Technique de l’Agriculture Biologique (ITAB, F)
  • The Hungarian Research Institute of Organic Agriculture (ÖMKi, H)
  • Kassel University (Uni Kassel, D)

Partners of the OFSP are represented in the project, both as scientific part and stakeholders. Stakeholders from several European countries (Italy, Denmark, Germany, Netherlands, France, Poland, Norway, Bulgaria, Estonia, Latvia, Sweden and Slovakia) are involved.

Further information